Offering an unparalleled variety of sights and sounds, from the majestic Niagara Falls to theatres, festivals and attractions, The Niagara Parks Commission is committed to a vision that preserves a rich heritage, conserves natural wonders, andinspires people world-wide. Founded in 1885, The Commission is an Operational Enterprise Agency of the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport with a mission to protect the natural and cultural heritage along the Niagara River for the enjoyment of visitors - while maintaining financial self-sufficiency.
Welcome Centres are located at key pedestrian entrance points to Queen Victoria Park (the parkland beside the Falls):
- Table Rock Centre* (inside the building next to the Horseshoe Falls)
- Grand View Marketplace Welcome Centre (outside the Hornblower Niagara Cruises ticket booths)
- Clifton Hill Welcome Centre (at the intersection of Clifton Hill and Falls Avenue, opposite Oakes Garden Theatre)
- Murray Hill Welcome Centre (near Queen Victoria Place, below the Fallsview Tourist Area and Fallsview Casino Resort)
- Rapidsview Welcome Centre (south of the Falls at Rapidsview Parking Lot)
The Welcome Centres are open June through August starting at 9:00 a.m., but hours may vary throughout the season.
*Table Rock Centre is the only one open year round
The Niagara Parks Commission was established to control the lands and buildings immediately surrounding the Canadian Horseshoe Falls. The area, which is now known as Queen Victoria Park, encompassed just 62.2 hectares (154 acres). Niagara Parks has grown to now own and maintain over 1325 hectares (3274 acres) of parkland along the entire length of the Niagara River, stretching 53 km (36 miles) from Fort Erie in the south to Niagara-on-the-Lake.
The Niagara Parks Commission along with the illumination committee, lights up the Falls and sets off fireworks every year. Check the illumination and fireworks page to find out the most current schedule.